Minnesota Public Schools by County

When the first Europeans arrived, the Minnesota region was populated by the Sioux and the Ojibwés (Chippewas). It was covered from the middle of the eighteenth century by French fur hunters, namely Médard Chouart Groseilliers and Pedra Radisson (1655-1659).

In 1679, a French expedition was carried out in the north of the territory. Extremely it was erected on the shores of Lake Superior and the region affirmed in the name of France. Following the Paris Treaty of 1763, Minnesota was surrendered to England. This in turn surrendered it to the United States in 1783, after the war of Independence. The fur trade, limited to the only American citizens after 1815, was therefore controlled by the American Fur Company John Jacob Astor.

At the end of several treaties, Sioux (1851) then Chippewas (1854-1855) yielded more than 11 million hectares of territory. Therefore, the colonists’ wave has amplified. The population went from 5 354 inhabitants in 1850 to more than 000 in 1860. Minnesota became part of the Union on May 11, 1858, as the thirty-second American state.

Despite a war against Sioux in the 1860s, Minnesota continued to develop thanks to massive immigration from Swedes, Norwegians and Finns. In 1870, it had more than 500,000 inhabitants. The economic development of the region rested on the wheat crop, the wood industries, mining and cattle raising. Industries began to diversify in the 1970s. In 1993, the region was hit hard by floods in the Mississippi.

minnesota county

Citation: MN means Minnesota – a state of United States. If you seek other definitions for MN, please follow this site.

  • COUNTRYAAH.COM: Provides a list of all holidays in the state of Minnesota when both banks and schools are closed, including national wide and world holidays, such as New Year, Christmas, and Thanksgiving Day, as well as regional holidays of Minnesota.
  • AbbreviationFinder.org: Do you know how many acronyms that contain the word Minnesota? Check this site to see all abbreviations and initials that include Minnesota.

Universities in Minnesota

University of Minnesota Twin Cities
The state University of Minnesota, or its main campus, is located in the metropolitan region of the cities of Saint Paul and Minneapolis. The University of Minnesota currently has over 51,000 students, making it the third largest state university in the United States. The University of Minnesota has produced several Nobel Prize winners. These include Nobel Prizes in Chemistry, Physics, Medicine, Business and the Nobel Peace Prize. There are further campuses in Duluth, Crookston and Morris. The University of Minnesota was founded in 1851, making it the oldest university in the state.

St. Cloud State University
St. Cloud State University was founded in 1869 and is now the second largest university in the state of Minnesota. Around 17,000 students are currently studying at the following faculties:

  • College of Science and Engineering
  • College of Liberal Arts School of Education
  • School of Health and Human Services
  • GR Herberger Business School
  • School of Computers
  • Engineering and environment
  • School of the Public Affairs
  • School of the Arts

Public Schools in Minnesota by County

You may also like...