Arkansas Public Schools by County

When the first Europeans arrived on the current territory of Arkansas, the region was then populated by Indian tribes: Osages, Caddos, Cherokees, Choctaw and Arkansas. Already visited by Spaniard Hernando de Soto in 1541-1542, the territory of Arkansas is again explored in the eighteenth century by the French Jacques inlay (1673) and Robert Cavelier da Sala (1682). In 1686, Henri de Tonty melts a trade counter not far from the confluence point of Arkansas and Mississippi. As part of French Louisiana, Arkansas is surrendered to the United States in 1803, under the Louisiana purchase.

The region became an autonomous federal territory in 1819. When Little Rock was founded in 1820, the territory has only 14 273 inhabitants. It is however from this date that affluent cotton growers, accompanied by slaves, and from 1830, the population is created with 30 388 inhabitants. When Arkansas joined just the Union in 1836, as the twenty-fifth American state. In the middle of the nineteenth century, the exploitation of forest resources and the opening of a line of steamships over the Mississippi favor demographic growth, and in 1860, the state’s population was 435,450, of which 111,307 were slaves.

A slave state, Arkansas made a secession in 1861, despite an important antiseparatist current. Nordistes is regained in 1862-1863, during the S├ęcession war (1861-1865). The Reconstruction period is marked by a difficult economic situation. Arkansas was in the Union only in 1868.

After World War II, Arkansas is violently opposed to federal racial desegregation policy (see Black Americans); in 1957, in particular, its governor Orval Faubus, supported by the white population, mobilized the State National Guard to prevent racial integration in Little Rock schools. American President Dwight Eisenhower must then intervene with federal gangs to ensure the protection of black children. The 42nd president of the United States, Bill Clinton, was governor of Arkansas from 1979 to 1981 and 1983 to 1992.

  • COUNTRYAAH.COM: Provides a list of all holidays in the state of Arkansas when both banks and schools are closed, including national wide and world holidays, such as New Year, Christmas, and Thanksgiving Day, as well as regional holidays of Arkansas.
  • Do you know how many acronyms that contain the word Arkansas? Check this site to see all abbreviations and initials that include Arkansas.

Universities in Arkansas

University of Arkansas
The state University of Arkansas has its main campus in Fayetteville. However, this is only one, albeit the most important, of a total of 6 locations. Other locations include Little Rock, Monitcello, Pine Bluff and Fort Smith. The University of Arkansas at Fayetteville has approximately 24,000 students, making it the largest university in the state. It was founded in 1899. The university gained special renown through its research and teaching in the fields of architecture, agriculture and economics. Well-known university professors were Bill and Hillary Clinton, both law professors.


Arkansas State University in Jonesboro
The state-owned Arkansas State University is located in Jonesboro in northeast Arkansas and is the second most important university in the state with approximately 10,000 students. It was founded in 1909 as the First District Agricultural and Mechanical College. It has only been given its current name since 1967.


Public Schools in Arkansas by County